A year and a half ago, I deleted my About section and I�ve never replaced it. It�s partly because I don�t think anyone reads this and also partly because writing an About section has always seemed like nothing more than an exercise in egotism.

Yesterday, it occurred to me that it would be useful for people who land here and click on the �about� link. That seems pretty unlikely to me, but I guess you never know. So, I will write one now.

I was born in Southern California. I currently live in Philadelphia. My brother is the only relative that I communicate with on a regular basis, and it�s not even that regular. He�s currently living in Japan.

I studied art in school. I have a BA for which I double-majored in Art History and Drawing.

I also studied Hebrew for two years. I married an Israeli at 22 and divorced at 27.

I�ve been practicing karate for nearly six years. I�ve been practicing yoga for about as long.

I follow some Buddhist practices; the most evident being vegetarianism and regular meditation. Don�t worry, I don�t meditate in public. I do eat in public occasionally, though.

I�ve spent an inordinate amount of time on the internet. I met my ex-husband online, over 12 years ago. I�ve worked in web development and now I work in databases. I have working knowledge of a number of programming languages.

I have advanced open water certification and enriched air certification, through PADI (Professional Association of Diving Instructors), and over 40 logged dives.

If anyone wants to know anything more, please ask, or if anyone is interested in seeing my personal homepage, I will provide the URL upon request (after I finish making it, that is).

Anyway, I filled out one of those email questionnaires for a friend a few days ago, and I�ll post that, too:

  1. What is your occupation?
    I work at a data mining/market research company, manipulating data. My title is senior analyst.



  2. What color are your socks right now?
    I'm barefoot at the moment, but will have to find some nice looking socks for meditation tonight, hahaha.



  3. What are you listening to right now?
    A power tool going next door. A neighbor sawing something, maybe? And the cat snoring and talking in his sleep.



  4. What was the last thing that you ate?
    Grapes, cheese and crackers with some black tea.



  5. Can you drive a stick shift?
    I really wish I could



  6. If you were a crayon, what color would you be?


  7. Purple, most likely.

  8. Last person you spoke to on the phone?
    I think it was Ed, on Thursday, unless it was someone at work?



  9. Do you like the person who sent this to you?
    Love her to death.



  10. How old are you today?
    30, and it's going fast.



  11. What is you favorite drink?
    Tea. Within the past year, my tea addiction has soared out of control.



  12. What is you favorite sport to watch?
    I don't remember the last time I voluntarily watched a sport. I suppose it's still karate, since I have no choice.



  13. Have you ever dyed your hair?
    The last time I dyed my hair was probably ten years ago. It's been orange, burgandy, blue and burgandy, in that order.



  14. Do you have anything pierced?
    I have four holes in my left ear (three near the bottom and one on top) and two in my right (both near the bottom).



  15. Do you have any tattoos?
    Nope



  16. Pets?
    Two pedigreed cats.



  17. Favorite food?
    Probably Italian, and that includes the chocolate and the gelato.



  18. What was the last movie you watched?
    Roman Holiday with Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn.



  19. Favorite day of the year?
    Gosh, I don't know. Any day I can get out and do something fun.



  20. What do you do to vent anger?
    Wait five minutes for it to turn to depression and then cry or do something that I know will distract me.



  21. What was your favorite toy as a child?
    My Little Pony.



  22. What is your favorite--fall or spring?
    I like Spring. I get cold way easier than the average person.



  23. Do you want your friends to email you back?
    Who doesn't want their friends to email them back?



  24. What was the last time you cried?
    This morning, reading We Were the Mulvaneys, when the cat died. I always cry when fictional pets die.



  25. What is on the floor of your closet?
    Which closet?



  26. Who is the friend you have had the longest?
    Suzanne. We met in junior high, but I haven�t seen her face to face in about five years.



  27. What did you do last night?
    Worked on my website and read.



  28. Favorite smells?
    Lilacs, real pine forest, sleeping cat.



  29. What inspires you?
    Everything. The whole world inspires me.



  30. What are you afraid of?
    Personal tragedy, such as someone getting hurt or killed in an accident.



  31. Plain, Cheese, or spicy hamburger?
    cheese veggie burger?



  32. Favorite dog breed?
    I like Weimaraner's for how they look and Beagle's for personality.



  33. Number of keys on your key ring?
    A car key, two house keys, garage door key, a key to my cabinet at work, and a key to my childhood home in California (which is no longer standing).



  34. How many years at your current job?
    About three years.



  35. Favorite day of the week?
    Probably Sunday.



  36. How many states have you lived in?
    Four. Five, if you count the three months in Florida.



  37. Favorite Holidays?
    The Fourth of July, New Years.



  38. Ever driven a motorcycle or heavy machinery?
    Yep, I crashed a motorcycle in my teens and haven't gotten back on one since.

  39. 0 comments so far

Thursday, Nov. 09, 2006 at 12:21 PM