Last night, I was in a foul mood after getting kicked in the head at karate. Karate is so much fun, until that happens. Other than a slight headache, I was fine, though; just not happy about it.

I applied for another job this week. It�s within my own department, and I�m horrendously under-qualified. But, I basically said, I know I�m horrendously under-qualified, but I�m bored out of my mind with what I�m doing now, and I�ll do whatever it takes to learn whatever I need to know.

Of course, what I need to know includes a statistics course, blah. I claimed to not have had any exposure to statistics, because I didn�t want to say that my only exposure to statistics is from counting cards. There�s also the programming side, for which, I also didn�t want to say most of my exposure to programming is hacking. All of my activities are perfectly legal, of course.

I asked my friend, who has a masters in PR, and she said, �Well, ok, just don�t use the word �hack.�� That�s probably good advice. Even though the word has been terribly bastardized and then forgotten. In this day and age, it�s still probably a bad idea.

I�ve also started work on a blog. Well, it�s more that a friend of mine started a blog and asked me to be an editor. I�ve written a few entries this week.

It�s for anyone who might be interested in my organized religion and in the most talked about virtual world of today. Well, it�s out there. I hope it�ll be interesting to someone. If anyone has the slightest bit of interest in checking it out, leave me a note or email me or something and I�ll email it to you.

I�m still working on my ceiling. This will be the third weekend in a row. I can�t get the paint even. Normally, I�m not terrible at this sort of thing. I did study art, you know.

Well, ok, I pretty much blew it off last weekend. I went to NYC Friday night. We hung out in soho, went to see a band around midnight. When I got back to my friend�s apartment around 2, I decided that his futon was a better choice than the NJ turnpike.

The next day, I missed karate, and only spent an hour or two painting. Sunday, I completely blew it off in favor of shopping, cleaning, yoga, meditation.

Above mentioned friend has finally gotten himself a girlfriend, which is something new and different. He�s always been one of those perpetually single friends. Normally, when he has a date, he comes back and tells me every detail. Which is what he did with this girl, and continued to do until I said, �ok, when you go out with a stranger, it�s normal to come home and tell your friends everything you did with them, but once that person starts becoming part of your life, to run home and tell your friends every detail starts kind of creepy.� Anyway, I know this from personal experience, and so does he. Except it was the other way around.

Now he just tells me when they go out and the intended activity. Good enough for me.

Lately, I�ve felt like I�ve been muddling through three feet of sludge to get things done. I think that maybe I need a vacation. Considering how much sleep I�ve been needing, lately, I must be sleep deprived.

0 comments so far

Friday, Apr. 13, 2007 at 10:45 AM