My attendance at karate hasn't been stellar, lately. The past three weeks, I've only been there twice a week.

I haven't been sleeping well. Work has been stressful. I need a vacation.

Wednesday evening, I wasted two hours of my life on a conference call with some psycho who wanted to launch a website, but with no clue about anything. I was semi-interested until I realized that he wants some things that are downright impossible.

I have a friend who is doing some graphics and ad-copy for the website, and he mentioned he was looking for a programmer, so she gave him my information.

He had a terrible time staying on task, and it took me two hours just to figure what he wanted the website to do.

Afterwards, I told Jenny that I thought he was being completely ridiculous and I didn't think he could pay, anyway.

I think that scared her a bit because he hasn't paid her yet. I told her that she'd probably get her money, but she might have to shake him down some, for it.

The little bit of graphic-design and ad-copy is nothing compared to what it'd cost for the programming, which of course, I'm not sure he realized, either.

Anyway, I was already sleep-deprived and exhausted by Wednesday, and that didn't help. Thursday, I ended up messing up a bunch of stuff at work, and then I decided to skip karate because it would have been dangerous to drive there, given my overly sleep-deprived state.

That evening, I decided that I wouldn't look at any code for any reason. I turned off my computer and put on a movie, curled up with a blanket, and dozed. Then I read until about midnight, I couldn't get to sleep until 1, but at least once I did sleep, it was a fitful sleep. It was the first fitful rest I'd had in weeks.

I don't know why I'm struggling so much, right now, but it is what it is, I guess.

I'm leaving for karate soon, but after that, I'll try and reserve the rest of the day for shopping and cleaning. That will leave tomorrow free for some hiking or something equally "restful."

0 comments so far

Saturday, Apr. 21, 2007 at 9:03 AM