I started yesterday with a hike in fairmount park. While out there, Tony sent me a text asking me if I wanted to go up to NYC to meet an old college buddy visiting from the mid-west.

So, I abbreviated my hike and turned around. I don't think I'll go back there. Well, maybe if I'm desperate. Those trails are so well-worn that I may as well be walking on pavement. Maybe someone can show me some better trails that aren't also used by mountain bikers. That's the other thing. I'm lucky that I forgot the headphones to my ipod because I'd have probably been flattened by a biker.

I got to manhattan after the commute from hell. NEVER EVER EVER try and drive to NYC late on a Sunday afternoon.

Met the friend and met some other mystery friend. I say this because I'd never heard of or seen this woman before in my life and when he introduced me she said, "Oh sure, Anthony told me all about you." I gave him a surprised look and he said something about how he tells her everything.

First of all, I had no idea he had another friend that he was closer with than me... secondly, he told her about me but not me about her? How fair is that?

She turned out to be a really lovely person, as all of his friends seem to be. Alright, he knows the occasional flake, but he works in entertainment, so that's to be expected.

Ummm, John turned out to be even lovelier. He's software engineer and his work overlaps with mine. I don't think I've ever met a software engineer doing cutting edge research in my field.

I guess I had a vague idea that it could happen because what I do is very lucrative (or so they tell me, I've not personally experienced this).

Our conversation about work is the only time he really seemed to open up and be comfortable speaking with me, but he is an engineer.

Tony and the new mystery friend stared as if they were blind-sided by two of their companions suddenly switching to speaking Mandarin mid-conversation.

I know it's rude as hell, but some of the stuff he's doing is absolutely fascinating. Rather than ask more at that moment, I asked him where I could go for reference material and read up on my own.

I'm excited about that. Shut up, I'm not a nerd.

Too bad John lives in the mid-west.

We went to a comedy club. It wasn't as funny as the place we went to on new years, but it was still a great time.

Afterwards, we went back to the cafe in soho that Tony and I went to last weekend. When we were there last weekend, he started talking to this drop-dead gorgeous woman. She was busy studying sheet music for a broadway show. They chatted a little bit about the business and just before he and I got up to leave, I pulled on his sleeve and told him to give her his card.

Strangely enough, he'd been thinking about her all week, and I used that as an excuse to go back to that place because I wanted to indulge in their awesome desserts.

John and I shared slices of chocolate ambrosia and chocolate mousse. I knew I could use the chocolate overload to keep me up on my drive back to Philly at 2AM.

I really, really need to cut back on the sugar. But, I dont drink coffee and I overdose on tea every day, so that doesn't keep me up anymore. What's left besides chocolate?

As it would be a one in a million chance, the girl was not there. However, I will stop suggesting we go there to "see if she's there." Maybe.

0 comments so far

Monday, Jul. 02, 2007 at 11:11 AM