And he�s all moved in. And the cats. And about 1/4th of his stuff.

He was very good about letting me decide what comes and what does not come. I basically took a few pieces of furniture that I thought were useful. For the rest, he told me to go through it and decide what I wanted. My response was, �Alright, which of these things are important to you?�

He pointed out a few things as being meaningful to him. I told him that those things could come to my house. Everything else can go to charity. What�s the point of keeping things that don�t mean anything to you?

That doesn�t mean I said, �Oh, you have no emotional attachment to your underwear? In the bin it goes!� No, his personal items came, too.

It�s funny, sitting here, munching on fudge that Adam gave me, and thinking about what I should do next, I thought about writing this, and then I thought how nice it is to have a place where a person can be completely self-absorbed.

Nowhere else in life is it ever appropriate to be totally self-absorbed. If you can�t do it in your own journal, then where can you?

So, anyway, back to me.

The move went quite smoothly. Our friend Christine came. I adore Christine. Maybe she reminds me of some relatives; big and German.

Adam and I were in the airport waiting for my cousin�s flight to land several weeks ago, and I told him that I would be in the ladies room, but if he saw my cousin get off the plane, he should stop her. He said, �I�ve never seen her before! I won�t know who she is!�

As I walked away, I called over my shoulder, �Just look for a tall, blond that looks just like me!�

He muttered to himself, �Tall and blond� yeah, that describes you perfectly.�

Then he met her and he later said, �Wow, she�s tall and blond, yet, she does look just like you! It�s so strange!�

I also lived in the Midwest awhile. What is life without a 6 foot blond around?

Well, it�s more that she�s fun and smart and interesting.

Anyway, I�ve been feeling a little crowded. I�m just not accustomed to all of this stuff and other people�s schedules and cats. Of course, it�ll take some time. I lived alone for about 6 years and liked it.

I am happy to share, but it makes me nervous somehow. Transitions make me nervous.

Life is about change, though. I wouldn�t want to spend the rest of eternity with no transitions. I wouldn�t want to wake up 40 years from now looking at the same withered old cats (which would likely be taxidermied by then) and using the same old desktop that I built in 2002.

0 comments so far

Monday, Aug. 25, 2008 at 9:33 AM