I started writing this last week and forgot to post it:

Yesterday, I was in the kitchen washing my mug and the office secretary approached me, first telling me that I was wearing a pretty skirt. That part isn�t weird. I really was wearing a pretty skirt. Actually, it was a dress, but I had on a shirt and sweater over it, so no one could possibly know that.

Then she told me that my breakfast was in the conference room and she made sure to set mine apart, so no one else would touch it. That�s not because I�m special, but because I�m a vegetarian. Then she asked me what I wanted for lunch. I stood there blankly. I could have anything. She stressed again, �anything you want.�

Honestly, I didn�t even want the breakfast that she had so carefully set aside for me.

Because I lost my mind somewhere between now and two months ago, I just stood there, like a deer in headlights. WhatDoIWantForLunch? WhatDoIWantForLunch? WhatDoIWantForLunch?

he asked, �How about a veggie wrap?�

�Yes, I�ll try that.�

Seriously. What is this world coming to?

I�m so crazy busy and stressed out at work that I can�t even decide what I want for lunch.

There is something seriously wrong with this world when the person who can�t even decide what to have for lunch is also sitting in the conference room making more �important� decisions. Who am I supposed to be, anyway? What is more important than what�s for lunch, anyway?

My boss was in that same conference room and asked me about 5 times if I�m OK.

What can I say? My faculties have left me. I felt constricted, like I couldn�t breathe, and I had been up since 5AM. That�s NOT normal for me.

Tuesday, I forgot to eat dinner and went to karate and almost blacked out a couple of times.

Wednesday, I took the day off and watched old episodes of Frasier obsessively.

Thursday, I went into the office, had my early morning meeting, and forgot to eat the veggie wrap that had been so thoughtfully ordered for me. Because it had mayo on it, I had no choice but to throw it out after it spent a full 24 hours sitting on my desk under a few sheets of paper.

I did this quiz yesterday and I liked it:

Your result for Are You a Jackie or a Marilyn? Or Someone Else? Mad Men-era Female Icon Quiz...

You Are a Jackie!

mm.jackie_.jpg

You are a Jackie. "I do everything the right way."

Jackies are realistic, conscientious, and principled. They strive to live up to their high ideals.

How to Get Along with Me

* Take your share of the responsibility so I don't end up with all the work.

* Acknowledge my achievements.

* I'm hard on myself. Reassure me that I'm fine the way I am.

* Tell me that you value my advice.

* Be fair and considerate, as I am.

* Apologize if you have been unthoughtful. It will help me to forgive.

* Gently encourage me to lighten up and to laugh at myself when I get uptight, but hear my worries first.

What I Like About Being a Jackie

* Being self-disciplined and able to accomplish a great deal

* Working hard to make the world a better place

* Having high standards and ethics; not compromising myself

* Being reasonable, responsible, and dedicated in everything I do

* Being able to put facts together, coming to good understandings, and figuring out wise solutions

* Being the best I can be and bringing out the best in other people

What's Hard About Being a Jackie

* Being disappointed with myself or others when my expectations are not met

* Feeling burdened by too much responsibility

* Thinking that what I do is never good enough

* Not being appreciated for what I do for people

* Being upset because others aren't trying as hard as I am

* Obsessing about what I did or what I should do

* Being tense, anxious, and taking things too seriously

Jackies as Children Often

* Criticize themselves in anticipation of criticism from others

* Refrain from doing things that they think might not come out perfect

* Focus on living up to the expectations of their parents and teachers

* Are very responsible; may assume the role of parent

* Hold back negative emotions ("good children aren't angry")

Jackies as Parents

* Teach their children responsibility and strong moral values

* Are consistent and fair

* Discipline firmly

Take Are You a Jackie or a Marilyn? Or Someone Else? Mad Men-era Female Icon Quiz at HelloQuizzy

Considering the entry I wrote last week, did I even need to take this quiz? However, note that the HTML from the quiz broke my diary template, but I'm NOT going to fix it. Being a Jackie every day will drive a girl batty.

0 comments so far

Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2008 at 12:22 PM