Can we talk about the rain?

This is getting out of hand. About a month ago, I was starting to feel down about it, and now everyone else is starting to catch up with my mood. June has basically just been April, part 3. I feel as though I was cheated out of Spring and early Summer this year.

I�d hate to say it, but I think that my seasonal affective disorder is more severe because I was raised where it�s always sunny and dry. I don�t know if that�s true or not, but I do know that this constant dreariness is just killing me.

Thank God we are going to California. With me constantly moping around about the rain, Adam looked up the weather for our destination in CA, and every single day says 80F and Sunny. Every. Day.

That sounds so fantastic that I�m not even sure what to do with myself. I know I won�t want to come back. I just don�t know to what intensity that I won�t want to come back.

I don�t know if being Californian really makes me more sensitive to the weather, but it sure feels like it. Adam and I talked about how it might be cold when we visit Japan, and I said that it wouldn�t be a big deal. He said, �You hate the cold. You�re so cranky. All winter long, it�s like you just woke up, all the time.� And yes, I�m notoriously cranky when I�ve just woken up. That�s really only true if I haven�t gotten enough sleep, though.

On clear, warm mornings (HAH), when I�ve had enough sleep, I�m like Snow White in the morning; singing and conversing with the animals while we tidy up the house. I just haven�t had that opportunity in awhile.

As far as Japan goes, like I predicted, as soon as I said that I was going to Japan and no one was stopping me, Adam suddenly thought that he could possibly spare the cash, too.

However, my brother has informed me that they were thinking about leaving soon, like, before my planned arrival time in Japan. Ooops.

That is not set in stone. As a matter of fact, nothing has been set in stone. I told him that we would look into booking tickets after getting back from California, so that gives him another couple of weeks to mull things over and discuss it with his girlfriend.

He mentioned that before leaving Asia, they wanted to tour China and/or India, and that I�d be welcome to join them on any part of that trip (which, again, sounds so fantastic, I don�t know what to do with myself). Even if the timing doesn�t work out, I am going to figure out a way to get off this continent in 2010.

Considering that the Philadelphia climate is now something that rivals that of Seattle and, without a CA respite, another month of this would have me hanging myself, I wouldn�t be opposed to moving.

It�s too much. The rain is just too much for me.

I can handle ugly buildings, provincial locals, dirty streets and poverty (I am from Long Beach, after all) but rain? Please, please, no more!

0 comments so far

Thursday, Jun. 18, 2009 at 3:56 PM