With the hubbub around health care reform, lately, I�d like to note that as much as I joke about losing my job in the aftermath of health care reform, that wouldn�t happen. I do something for which there will always be a need, no matter who is running what.

It�s funny, I was planning on being much more detailed about my career, but thought better of it. It�s a little bit of a shame, but we can never be totally honest and detailed in any public sphere without the risk of that information being used against us.

Then it occurred to me that it�s been awhile since I�ve deleted entries. Not that it matters that much, but I may as well try somewhat. Then again, there�s so much information out there these days, who has time to sift through it all?

Anyway, this past weekend, we went tubing down the Delaware. We went with my college friend Sharon and her fianc�. We haven�t spoken in almost a year and I was surprised that she wanted to come out. It�s a good and healthy outing (with the exception of the sun exposure), so I was happy about that.

All of our other friends with either surfing or at a music fest on Saturday and it seemed like a good opportunity to do something relaxing. I got what I wanted out of the experience. It was sunny and relaxing and I got a veggie burger out of the deal, halfway through.

This trip was supposed to take 3-4 hours, but somehow magically stretched into something closer to 6 hours. Thank God Adam and I both have a decent amount of melanin on hand. Although, I am generally pale looking, my Asian genes really knows how to kick in when necessary. In the sun, I�ll become golden-brown (rather than bright-red).

That being said, the sun is freakin� dangerous. Sharon and her fianc� are badly burnt. I wish I had issued more warnings and had been more diligent about reminding them to put on sun block. They are both pale, and probably put on the same amount that Adam and I put on, but it obviously wasn�t enough. They just aren�t �outdoor people� and thus wouldn�t think as much about it.

Of course, everyone is in danger of being burnt, especially with the higher UV these days, but knowing how badly I could be burnt, I�ve never been so glad to be a brown-ish person. This is a fact that I wasn�t happy about when I lived in the northern Midwest, which may as well be called New Scandinavia. I�ve since acquired an appreciation for my coloring, and even more so after this weekend.

I don�t necessarily like getting all brown. Skin damage is skin damage, no matter how it looks or how little it hurts. I just can�t seem to avoid it. It�s almost as if I just have to think about going outside, and I�ll start sporting a tan.

After the tubing, since we happened to be in NJ, we drove up to the university where Adam went to college. He took me past some of his old apartments and we walked around a small portion of the campus. He relayed funny stories to me about things that happened in various locations. He obviously knew where to find the best food, and he took me to an excellent Turkish place. Afterwards, I had some ice cream that people supposedly line up around the block to have. It was good, but not spectacular.

I had so much fun.

I think that�s something I�ve been craving, lately. I don�t mean going to Adam�s old university. I think I just wanted to have a lazy day and then hang out somewhere in a casual, yet, interesting place and have some good food.

I still have that excited/nervous feeling that I�ve been having a lot, lately. I think this weekend even intensified it. Also, with LA confirming that I am not crazy made me feel� hmmmm, not crazy! Also, slightly more excited because I feel like I can second guess myself slightly less now.

0 comments so far

Monday, Jul. 27, 2009 at 4:40 PM