I�m really looking forward to this weekend. I�m going to rest a lot. Adam is going up north to hang out with his friends and then go backpacking for a few days. This leaves me about a week on my own. Sure, I�ll probably get lonely, but I think I�ll also spend a lot of time basking in the nothingness.

No plans, no agenda�s, no outside opinions. I am invited to a pool party and BBQ for Sunday afternoon, and I am half-tempted to cancel, just so I can indulge in myself more.

This past weekend, I was busy all day on Saturday, out late on Saturday night. Sunday, we did a little bit of floor-tile shopping, had dinner out and didn�t do much else.

This week, Adam pulled up my basement carpet. Not because he�s a naughty boy. We�re planning to tile. We still haven�t decided on a tile design, yet.

While I can accept that it costs a certain amount of money for a 12�X12� square piece of rock (or ceramic or whatever), I just haven�t found anything that I really like. I don�t want to lay down a bunch of money for tile that I can merely �live with.� I want something that I really adore.

Adam visited a new tile store today. He called this afternoon to tell me that they had a good variety and decent prices. Maybe I will find something that I adore, after all? Not that it would be a big deal if I ended up in the land of �living with tile.� I mean, I�ll obviously live with whatever ends up on my floor, either way. It�s just that if there are a million designs that you think are just so-so, that makes the selection process even harder.

For so many things that I choose, I have a very visceral �this is it!� gut reaction as soon as I see it. I haven�t had that so far, which means I have to bring in color theory and practical issues to make a decision.

Anyway, since he�s going away for the week soon, the tile project will be on hold. I�ll just ignore my cement basement floor until then.

I just ordered a backpacking tent online for Adam, as a back-to-school present. I don�t know if there�s such a thing as a back-to-school present, but I figure that quitting ones job to start a phd program is a big enough deal to warrant some kind of gift. People get gifts when they graduate school, why not when they start?

Also, early October, Nicole and I are going to meet up with Anthony to attend a concert and stay over at his condo. Maybe we�ll get into a few NYC shenanigans, but seeing that neither Nicole nor I drink, and Anthony is a mild drinker, if that, the wildest thing we�ll get into are jokes that will be too academic for mixed company.

So, after planning that, my next agenda item is acquiring some real-life, honest-to-God dance shoes. I know, it�s a frightening thought, but it�s getting to the point where they are needed. Besides, I now own a pair of cleats. If I can spend the money on cleats to protect myself during sports, I can surely spend the money to protect my feet on the dance floor.

Why is it that I own so many special kinds of shoes?

0 comments so far

Thursday, Aug. 20, 2009 at 10:43 PM