I�ve been hungry a lot this week. I haven�t necessarily felt like eating, but my stomach has been constantly sending me signals that it�s running low. I think that it must be a sign that my metabolism is really ramping up, but I still haven�t seen any physical results of that.

My health insurance company offered to pay us $75 to submit to health screenings. Blood pressure, cholesterol, body fat percentage, etc., etc. I�m still reeling from the last year�s health screening. They told me (I work out several times a week, eat a healthy vegetarian diet and, at my fattest, topped out at a size four) that my body fat percentage was on the high end of acceptable.

Excuse me?

You�re going to have to pay me a lot more than $75 to go through that horror again.

So, I�m a bit sensitive about it. It was one of those rare times when I received an email and fervently wished that I could reply with, �You can take all your fancy body-measuring gear and go expletive yourself with it.�

Of course, this prompted a multiple day long discussion between me and Adam about whether or not it was fair to include women�s breasts when it comes to calculating body fat percentage.

I argued that fat is fat, and aesthetically pleasing or not, it still counts in the overall percentage. After all, it�s not even possible to exclude that when making the actual calculation. Also, no one gets to choose where their fat goes. It goes where it goes, that�s genetics.

Adam (I think he was terrified that I might actually lose enough weight to lose my breasts) argued that breasts shouldn�t count because women are supposed to have breasts.

My body fat tends to collect in that area, and while I�m not hugely busty (because I�m generally not huge), that�s where it goes. Even though some people might be happy about the fact that it�s there, that doesn�t stop it from showing up as fat in a body fat measuring thingy.

Yesterday I had to miss dance because my car was stuck in the snow. I haven�t been able to go to dance in over a month. I have been able to attend zumba regularly, though. That�s just the way the storms have worked out. Today, I can go to zumba and I�m grateful. It�s a dancey activity and I get my exercise.

I�ll have to miss my usual Sunday zumba class, but that�s because I�m going snowboarding that day, so no complaints about that. Adam is going off to do his annual superbowl thing on that day. If I go snowboarding, I will be sacrificing a full day of blissful at home quiet time, but I can�t pass up snowboarding. A handful of my friends are going. Hopefully it won�t be too crowded since it will be the superbowl.

As I scheme about my weekend, after an afternoon snack of string cheese, dried figs and crispbread, I can�t help feeling pretty good. Anxiety be damned.

Now, if I could just get my hands on some chocolate�

0 comments so far

Thursday, Feb. 03, 2011 at 4:06 PM