In reply to my last comment:

Nicole often mentions feeling conspicuous during salsa because she towers above all of the women, and many of the men.

She told me once about being in a performance class, and seeing the entire group in the mirror. She said she stuck out like a sore thumb. I told her that every other woman there was probably thinking the same thing about herself. She snorted and said, "Yeah, right! The rest of them were identical."

The truth is, even if a woman is 99% perfect, she'll still focus on the 1% that isn't good enough. I'm sure in that room, the women were thinking things like, "I have the worst skin here" or "I have the frizziest hair" or "I have the biggest butt."

We�re too concerned about our own problems to even notice anyone else's.

The good news is that I think that it�s a concern that fades over time, especially those of us who find good men who tell us that we�re beautiful just as we are.

1 comments so far

Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2011 at 10:56 AM