Toora loora toora loo rye ay
Come on Irene

So, anyway, thanks to those damn Christians, we�re probably all going to be dead by October. Or, maybe a tiny earthquake and an annoying, but not terrible, hurricane was the best their faith could muster up.

See where the breakdown of family values is getting us? We can�t even get a good apocalypse going, anymore.

Sorry, sorry, I don�t mean to be so disrespectful. Well, apparently, I do, because yes, my keyboard DOES have a backspace and a delete key.

As far as my house goes, nothing happened. I�ve had nor�easters cause more damage. There was some wind and rain, but not much else.

We didn�t do much preparing. Adam and I have camping gear up the wazoo, so I was not too concerned about going without power. Also, we�re vegetarian/vegan household. So, maybe my carton of milk goes bad. Oh well.

I filled up our water containers with filtered water (usually used for camping and hiking). We are in the city, so no pump to worry about. I figured there�s a slight possibility that a major flood could contaminate the water supply, and really, how hard is it to fill some water containers? You don�t want to die of something that was totally preventable, right? How embarrassing would that be?

That is what I told Adam when he asked me why I was bothering with it.

I really wasn�t all that concerned about the power going out. I�ve been in that house for eight years, and the power has gone out exactly once. That one time was in 2006, when over 300,000 people in the Philadelphia region went without power for three days, in July. I went without power for about an hour.

I also wasn�t too concerned about a flood reaching us, either. While the whole region sits pretty low, and floods fairly often, I seem to be in a good spot. Flood water has never even come close to me.

Adam asked me about the possibility of flooding before the storm, I snorted and said, �If we get flooding here, then the whole city is in big, big trouble.�

He then got scared about bringing the cats to an evacuation shelter. So, I reminded him that we have the money to evacuate to anywhere we please. We can pack up our kitties and take our cars and get the hell out of dodge. If the worst happened, our biggest inconvenience would be the traffic going out of the city.

Sure, there�s property damage, and losing things that have sentimental value. I�ve mentioned before that I�ve lost everything more than a few times in my life. Most of what I own is stuff that I�ve acquired since living in Philadelphia, anyway.

Adam is the type that doesn�t have a strong emotional attachment to belongings, either. He visibly relaxed when I reminded him that all the really scary stuff we saw on TV after Katrina happened to poor people.

Of course, it�s horrible that the worst always happens to poor people. It highlights just how neglectful we really are, as a society.

When it comes down to it, and we�re all fleeing for our lives, it�s easy to run people over and leave them behind. Fear takes over.

This is why we should probably give them the tools to be able to run for their lives, too, if it ever becomes necessary.

Adam is probably one of the most altruistic people I know, and his biggest concern was whether or not we�d be able to evacuate the cats.

Sorry, I did not mean to turn this into a depressing entry.

The storm came and went, but nothing too serious happened. So, I'm happy, almost giddy, about that.

I'm really not a fan of natural disasters.

0 comments so far

Monday, Aug. 29, 2011 at 1:34 PM