I�m going climbing again tonight with Nicole. As you can probably surmise from that, I didn�t drop her to death last week.

She and the new boyfriend are finished. They broke up over the weekend. It seems a little inconsistent, given that last week, she was saying how well things were going between them. I wasn�t very surprised, though, because being infatuated with a man is not really �her.�

She said something about how they were getting a little too swept up in the whole thing; that it was getting a bit too romantic. They were even writing each other love poetry (I know! The horror! You never think it�ll happen to someone you know.)

As you can tell, she was pretty vague. She didn�t go into detail about why falling for one another is a bad thing, but I have a pretty good idea. Having real feelings for someone is scary, scary stuff. I practically had an aneurism when I got together with Adam.

I�m unsure about whether or not she wants to talk about it. Some people like to give themselves some time and space before talking about that stuff, so I�ll just let her take the lead on that.

Over the weekend, I got a taste of some role reversal. Adam was out of town, and I was home alone. I knew I couldn�t call her because she had a big weekend planned with the boyfriend. Ah. So that�s what it feels like to be alone when your good friend has a man in her life. Since my late teens, I�ve almost always been the friend with the man in her life, while my other friends remained single. When I was single, I was the single woman with single friends. That doesn�t sound very exciting, but I think it�s probably the most stable lifestyle any woman can have (in some cases, the most fulfilling).

Speaking of which, I decided to postpone my women�s hike. I�m organizing a hike for anyone who wants to come. I changed my mind because when I was at the potluck on Sunday, I had a conversation with a friend of mine. She and her boyfriend just bought a house together, and they�ve spent the summer trying to consolidate, and sell their old houses. Their new house is huge, by the way. It could easily fit two households, but they have complications. The roof started leaking 3 months after they moved in.

Anyway, because they�ve been so busy with the house stuff, they haven�t had a chance to go anywhere all summer. I suggested the long weekend hike, and I initially said that it would be for women only. She said she�d be glad to come, but didn�t know what she�d do with her boyfriend for the weekend. After the summer they�ve had, how could I make him stay home alone?

It�s going to be in the gunks, in early October. The leaves will be perfect.

I�ll try to get the women�s hike together for November.

I don�t know why I suddenly have energy for organizing anything, but I am grateful for it. Maybe it�s a combination of exercise and trying to keep my stress level down. Maybe it�s the refreshing fall weather.

This time of year is beautiful. I can�t wait for our hiking trip next month.

1 comments so far

Wednesday, Sept. 07, 2011 at 5:57 PM