One of the downsides to going out on Saturday night is that I got first hand evidence that I still no longer fit into my old party clothes.

It�s not the end of the world, but I think we�ve all experienced the disappointment of wanting to slide into an item of clothing that we love, especially if it�s still decent looking, and hardly worn, and finding that it doesn�t fit.

It re-inspired me to go back to food tracking. There isn�t much choice, really. As a vegetarian and vegan sympathizer, that cuts out any serious fad dieting (other than straight fasting). Besides, my diet could already qualify as a crazy fad diet.

Oh, I know, I could just buy new clothes, but I don�t really like to shop. I also don�t want to make the time. Is that stupid?

Speaking of being a vegan sympathizer, I finally opened the hemp milk and found that I really like it. It has a taste similar to almond milk, but without the lifeless, watery texture. It�s actually creamy.

I had tried to cozy up to some soy milk over the past couple of weeks. There was some left over in the fridge that I�d used for making those cupcakes.

Last week, I felt like I was getting sick, over the weekend, I felt even sicker. I had the same bizarre symptoms that I had gotten from drinking soy milk before, but I didn�t think I was drinking enough to make a difference. I was only adding about a tablespoon in my morning tea. Soy milk makes me feel like I�m coming down with a bad cold or the flu. I get a scratchy throat, achiness, tiredness, grogginess, even a fever.

I was hoping that maybe my soymilk sensitivity had gone away, but no such luck. I switched to hemp milk on Sunday, and yesterday, I had a burst of energy.

I ended up having to work until 10:30PM, but last evening, I still managed to make a mock meatloaf and do my weights workout. I did a little web research about nutrition, and went to bed at 1:30AMwith images of flax seeds dancing in my head.

The mock meatloaf is for a dinner guest we�re having tonight. My reiki master has returned from Italy. She was there for the summer. That is where she grew up, and her family still lives on a farm there, where they produce olive oil and wine.

I know it sounds like it couldn�t be more of a fairy tale existence, except in one way, and that is this: She told me that the olive oil that they produce is so delicious and healthy that they eat it by the spoonful.

I love the taste of olive oil and even I can�t even imagine that. What must that be like?

She offered to bring a bottle of wine tonight, but I declined. I should have told her to bring over a bottle of that olive oil, but that wouldn�t matter. I�d asked her before, and she doesn�t have any. She can�t get it past customs.

Speaking of that, I have to go home and heat up that mock meatloaf and put some squash in the oven.

1 comments so far

Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2011 at 4:01 PM