I am grateful that SYTTD did not make me salivate for a gown. I actually cautioned myself against it, and decided that if I started thinking that way, I�d stop watching.

If I really, truly wanted a wedding dress, though, I�d get my hands on one, somehow. It wouldn�t be a super-expensive couture gown. My potential sister-in-law went to FIT and can sew and won design awards and stuff, so I�d probably consult her.

If I wanted the experience of trying on dresses, I�d make an appointment and tell them that I�m getting married next year. If I bought one and had no occasion for wearing for it, I�d invent one.

I�m not saying that�s how everyone should go about things, but that�s just the way I am.

I can�t do traditional, anyway. No princess, fairy tale, anything, for me. I�m too spikey, for that. Spikey, as in, my rough edges will never be fully worn down, so there�s really no fitting me, anywhere. It�s not that I don�t want it, sometimes. I just know that it�s extremely unlikely that it will ever be me. I have to be ok with that, because well� what�s the alternative?

I wouldn�t say that things are necessarily coming together, now, than any other time. It might seem like it is, but this is just the nature of the exercise.

I�m focusing on the positive and dismissing the negative. So, while it sounds like I�m floating through life, three inches off the ground with a big, silly smile on my face, this is just me doing what I�ve set out to do.

Actually, I was in a pretty crappy mood, yesterday, which is why I just got out my positive things and didn�t say much else.

Ok, so, anyway�

Number 1
Adam is taking his French reading proficiency test, right now. If all goes well, he�ll be done with one of his required languages to finish his degree. If nothing else, at least he�ll stop studying French non-stop, for a while.

Number 2
I actually got around to responding to the dean at the school where I�m hoping to start taking classes. I had sent an email inquiring about several things and got a nice, long response. For some reason, it took me awhile to even read the email, and once I did, it never occurred to me to respond� and oh, I don�t know, say thank you because it�s clear she took a lot of time with her response. So, I finally did that. Better late than never, I guess.

Number 3
I�m going to the dentist today. I hate going to the dentist. However, when I think about what my life would be like without modern dentistry, I�m grateful that I have access to dental care, and the means to pay for it.

Number 4
I was getting worried that Adam was going to let Valentine�s Day pass without acknowledgement. He did that last year, and I threw a fit that just about brought the house down (I told you that I was spikey). Any normal man would be terrified of the consequences of doing the same, this year.

But, like I said before, we are two unicorn�s living under the same roof, and while that sounds all perfect and magical, it doesn�t always work out that way. We both think (delusion or not) that we�re highly coveted and expect lots of treatment that�s worthy of the highly coveted. The coveting needs to go both ways or else there�s hell to pay.

Adam told me this morning that he is planning to take me to a fancy vegan restaurant tomorrow night. He didn�t tell me because he wanted it to be a surprise. I told him that I don�t like surprises. I like to be able look forward to something, in advance. So, we got that all straightened out.

He also told me that he forgot to make reservations, so I�m not sure that we�re actually going. Honestly, I don�t care. He�s extremely forgetful, and regularly forgets things that one would think that no normal person could forget, so I don�t take it personally (anymore). We can go Friday or any other day (see above about tradition and needing everything to be perfect). For me, it really is the thought that counts.

0 comments so far

Monday, Feb. 13, 2012 at 1:38 PM