Number 1
Nicole went back to high jumping after 16 and 1/2 years. As of a few months ago, she was still the high jump record holder at her alma mater. Of course, a record can be broken at any point, so I have no idea if that still holds true, but a record that held up for 16 years probably isn�t going to be broken so easily. So, she went to practice for the first time last night. Her body is still in one piece.

If it were anyone else, I�d be shocked beyond belief. Since it�s her, I�m merely just amazed. I love, love, love having friends that are that incredible. Any time I second guess my ability to do anything, I just need to recall a few key people in my life. They remind me that anyone can do anything if we set our minds to it. Really. Truly.

Number 2
So, speaking of which, I had a conversation with a friend, yesterday. I wrote about it last night, but I�m second guessing whether or not to post it. It�s kind of impossible to put a positive twist onto it, no matter how I look at it, so that disqualifies it. I can�t tell what exactly is going on with her, but I have a feeling that it comes down to a bad marriage.

It sort of reminded me a little bit of the Princess Diana biography I read, and how I came away thinking that maybe some people are just more delicate than others. They�re less emotionally equipped to handle life. I�m beginning to think that it�s more likely that we�re all different. A situation that is harmful to one person might be ok for another. Another situation might be just ok for someone, whereas another person in the same situation might flourish.

I don�t know if I�d say this is true for all people, but that most people can probably flourish when put into the right situation. It�s amazing how the wrong circumstances can really drag a person down, but really astounding how much that same person can be capable of achieving, given different circumstances.

The catch here is that each individual is responsible for finding his or her own �right� situation. That can be very, very difficult because often times, the �right� situation doesn�t match a person�s ideals, values or comfort level. Sometimes that means being willing to rip apart your own life in ways that you never thought possible.

So, what�s positive about this? First, it�s made me realize that we really do have the right to pursue our own happiness. If we�re smart, we�ll pursue it like a man with his hair on fire pursues water. Second, that it makes the most sense to judge the �happiness� of a life by how one feels on a day-to-day basis. It does not matter what you own or what you achieve. What matters is how you feel on an average, every day basis. I do think it's totally fine if a person gets pleasure out of having things that she loves or remembering a great experience; as long as it truly makes her happy.

I never really liked the adage that we should live each day like it�s our last. I find that to be incredibly impractical advice. I think it�s more useful for a person to just ask herself, �If it turned out that today was my last day, would I have any regrets? What would they be? What can I do about that?�

Number 3
Today is Valentine�s Day, and most of the people I know are pretty happy about that. With the exception of the above-mentioned friend, everyone I know is pretty satisfied in his/her romantic relationship (or lack thereof).

1 comments so far

Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2012 at 3:56 PM