I don�t really want to do this positive thoughts exercise today, but I am capable of doing it, so I�ll suck it up.

A kitten that my ex-husband and I had adopted many moons ago passed away last night. He was old and cranky and had cancer, so it was no big shock. My ex told me, prefacing it with, �I�d hate to tell you this while you�re at work, but�� That�s how he prefaces all of his bad news because he has a knack for giving me bad news while I�m at work. Funny how, �I�m sorry for doing X� never makes it into the, �I�m going to stop doing X,� category.

Which brings me to:

Number 1:
Anytime my ex does something insensitive or annoying, I always get comfort by remembering that he�s not my problem, anymore. He�s someone else�s problem now, and if that doesn�t fill me with enough gratitude to make me want to turn cartwheels, I don�t know what will.

Number 2:
Adam passed his French proficiency exam. This means that he�s fulfilled half of his language requirement for his PHD. He hates language study more than anything, and I�m sure he couldn�t be happier to pass this milestone.

Number 3:
Since Adam was unable to make a reservation on Valentine�s Day, he made reservations for tonight. After I found out about the cat, I sent him a text asking him to cancel the reservation, but I didn�t give the reason. Within 30 seconds, he called me to ask if everything is ok. I told him that I couldn�t talk about it at the moment. Without me prompting him, he told me that he would meet me at home, as soon as possible, and made sure I knew exactly when to expect him. He knows that there's no greater comfort to me than to know exactly what to expect, and when to expect it.

He has different hours every day, and it changes every semester. I don�t keep track, so I never know when he�s going to be home.

I�m sure he�ll ask me all about it, let me cry on his shoulder and pamper me until I can�t stand it, anymore. The above mentioned ex? If there was acknowledgment, at all, he would have texted back, �OK� and then never mention it, again, or ask me why.

1 comments so far

Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2012 at 4:27 PM