I ended up missing yesterday�s positive thought list because I was too busy having fun. I made myself feel good my way, so there.

Number 1
Yesterday was a good day. We went to the Penn Museum. Afterwards, to the grocery store and then home to make soup. I�d forgotten about making soup because this winter has been warm enough that I haven�t really craved it. We had a lovely evening.

Number 2
I had a dream last night that I went to a Madonna concert and then somehow ended up making out with her in the backseat of a parked car. At some point, there was some conversation about how I either had or planned to have her baby.

As crazy as it sounds, I think I know what it means. To me, Madonna represents a strong, innovative woman, who succeeds. I have no desire to roll around on stage wearing lingerie. That�s been done, and it�s not me. It�s her.

As much criticism as she�s gotten over the years, I still consider myself lucky to have had her as a role model. Because of her, sexy and feminine don�t have to mean demure and dimwitted, anymore. Now a woman can be sexy, feminine, smart, powerful, unconventional, and herself. She had a hand in that.

So, why am I getting so up close and personal with her in my dream? I�m embracing that part of myself. I�m taking something from her and making it my own. It�s not about her persona, music or values. I�m not trying to redefine sexy or emulate her. It�s about her fearlessness, her drive to succeed and her refusal to compromise. She succeeded on her own terms, and my subconscious is instructing me to do the same.

Number 3
I went to Zumba this morning. We were up late last night, so I felt groggy and tired in the morning. I haven�t having been going as regularly as I�d like, lately. I expected to be exhausted and miserable. Instead, I was high-energy and happy.

0 comments so far

Sunday, Feb. 26, 2012 at 5:25 PM