I know that I�ve already updated twice in the past 24 hours, but I just had to write about my great grapeseed oil experiment.

First of all, I love grooming while watching Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. In case you haven�t noticed, I�m over any shame I had over the media I consume. I stopped worrying about it after I started freely admitting that I loved America�s Top Model to anyone who asked about my TV watching habits (I stopped watching it after I canceled cable).

While it might not seem like it, I really am quite discriminating about TV. It�s probably obvious, but I hate anything serious or scary. I don�t like drama. Even Charmed is too suspenseful for me, sometimes. I live with a guy who prefers Hitchcock but is an extremely good sport when it comes to my TV watching habits.

Admitting that I prefer silly over philosophical was so freeing, like that guy who finally got rid of his toupee on the second episode of the second season of Queer Eye. It was also kind of similar to when I got over the fact that I prefer guys that are younger than me, and I�m more compatible with them, anyway. It�s not that I go cruising high schools or anything, but you know how it is with women. These ideas are ingrained into us; our man is supposed to be smarter, taller, older and make more money than us; which is just another way the patriarchy has stepped on our collective toes. I'm so glad that, for the most part, people are over those strict ideas about an appropriate match.

Anyway, part of my hesitation to inform people of my viewing habits was that it seemed incongruent with how people see me. People tend to think crazy things about me. Like, that I actually show up on time for work (hasn�t happened within the last decade), or that I�m organized (I have, by far, the messiest desk at work and at home), that I only listen to NPR in the car (too depressing, I listen to pop music), and that I take stress in some kind of yogic stride, floating above all normal people.

I don�t intentionally portray myself this way, but I suppose it�s because I appear calm and conservative outwardly, and I have that whole Asian stereotype thing going for me. I�m supposed to be good at math, be able to play the violin masterfully, and have my life mapped out from birth to death. Math is my weakest subject and I was actually thrown out of orchestra for being that bad at violin, and well, we know about the life plan thing.

Anyway, this was supposed to be about grapeseed oil, right?

So, I didn�t go for the over-priced cosmetic version with scents added. I just went for the industrial 100% cold-pressed grapeseed oil kitchen stuff. And, yes, I did put it on my salad before I put it on my face. Both the taste and the scent are mild.

Ok, I did try it as a cleanser, even though I was skeptical. Other people reported that using this as a cleanser caused white worms of gunk to spontaneously purge from their pores. That sounded pretty exciting, to me, so I gave it a try. Nothing happened. All it seemed to do was make my bathtub slick and oily.

After I cleaned myself up with a real cleanser, I tried it as a moisturizer. This time, the internet did not lie. It does absorb quickly. It even absorbs better than shea butter, which is only sold as a cosmetic, and not a food. A little goes a long way, though, which can be a problem when you�ve got the food grade spout and not a little cosmetic eye dropper.

A few people mentioned that it gives skin a very healthy looking glow. I have to agree. I did seem to have a healthier looking glow afterwards. I get complimented a lot on having a healthy looking glow, anyway, so if this stuff could actually make me have a healthier looking glow, I can only imagine what it would do for someone who has dull skin.

Alright, I�m going to go back to hovering in front of my bodhisattva shrine with my legs in full lotus.

1 comments so far

Tuesday, Mar. 13, 2012 at 10:27 PM