No, unfortunately, I don�t have any kind of vacuum that can suck up water. There wasn�t enough water for it to even be visible unless I was stepping on it, anyway. I used towels and I have a big fan on it now.

I spoke with a man from my home owner�s insurance company. He told me that I could file a claim but my rates would go up, and in the long run, I�d end up paying for the carpet, anyway. He suggested that I dry out the carpet, sprinkle it with baking soda and then steam clean it. If the carpet is moldy after that, then file a claim and get it replaced.

I now have a shiny new water heater downstairs. My old one was always flaky. It also dripped scummy water on my carpet as the plumber was taking it out. He was very nervous and apologetic about it. I shrugged and blotted it up.

I only shudder to think that stuff was mixed with my hot water. I�m happy to be rid of it.

As for my allergy, I have the name of a highly recommended allergist, but he is not available until after September 10th. I think I may just go to my gp in the short term. I don�t like walking around with nothing but some Claritin when I don�t even know what caused my allergic reaction.

The funny thing is that I went to speak to the co-worker whose two children are severely allergic to a few things and knows a lot about anaphylaxis. I explained to her the sequence of events in greater detail to her and she confirmed that it is exactly what happens when a person has a serious anaphylactic reaction to something. Then she said, �Are you sure you�re completely better? Your cheeks look a little bit puffy.�

I tapped my nose and cheeks with my fingers. They were normal feeling. I started laughing hysterically and said, �No, this is just what I look like!�

0 comments so far

Monday, Aug. 27, 2007 at 2:56 PM