Second entry of the day. Yes, really.

Right now, I'm wondering why some people are so obsessed with the past. This is especially so when their past wasn't even that great.

What did these people do before facebook? Before they could friend people they went to high school with and post pictures from 10 or 15 years ago?

You know, back before digital cameras, meaning they had to go out of their way to scan the photos.

Did they spend all their time paging through old yearbooks?

In my mind, the present holds the most significance, then comes the future (because you can actually affect it in the present) and the past is a distant third.

That's not to say that the instant something has happened and enters the past, it drops from my memory, never to be thought of again. I have thoughts of the past, but only in a vague sense most of the time.

I've had a lot of very rich experiences in the past. I've also had a lot of really horrible experiences in the past. I'm grateful for the good and I do my best to accept the bad. I go over things again as it becomes necessary, but as time goes on, it's becoming less and less necessary.

High school and college memories are good for the occasional laugh but I don't spend nearly the amount of time on it as other people do.

It never even occurs to me to post a photo that was taken before I had my facebook account; with the exception of when I just got my account and had nothing else to post.

I find it strangely sad and disturbing. It really makes me wonder. Is the present so awful? Is the future so bleak (although, I admit, it'd be really hard to post photos of the future)?

I'd rather just hear about today, or at the very least, something that happened this year.

Also, if clinging to the past is normal, then why does the past hold so little significance for me?

0 comments so far

Tuesday, Jul. 07, 2009 at 10:12 PM