I�ve gone to a few more acupuncturist appointments and it seems to be making a difference. My low-energy and the tension are getting much better. I�m also taking a level 1 reiki class this weekend. I�ve been wanting to take one for awhile, but the right opportunity never came along.

This friend of mine is a reiki master and teacher, but I�ve never known her to teach classes prior to now. She�s an academic and works in the social sciences. She�s even less mystical about it than I am. She was driven to try reiki ten years ago because of chronic headaches. She�s educated herself quite a bit on the mind-body connection and was able to recommend quite a few books to me; some of them historic, some scientific. I�m looking forward to learning more.

Adam has been doing quite a bit of research on the mind-body connection himself, this semester. He�s writing a paper on ki-energy, right now, so it�s kind of fitting.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, I�d gone to Rita�s house for a little �intro to Reiki� session. She�d shown us a couple of techniques, and I was able to notice energy, and maybe a weak little flow, if I really concentrated. I was all about learning more, though.

During the �attunement� rituals, I definitely noticed some kind of shift. It wasn�t a �oh, I think if I concentrate really hard, I can feel something� kind of shift. It was a �WOAH! WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?!?!� kind of shift.

What the hell was that, indeed? I came home, and started going about my evening. Adam and I started watching TV. I noticed that my shoulder was hurting a little bit, so I figured, what the hell, lets give it a try. I�m not a contortionist, so I can only put one hand on my shoulder and the other was in my lap. I noticed some heat between my hand and my shoulder but that seemed normal. With skin on skin, there�s going to be heart. However, suddenly, my other hand heated up. There was a distinct circle of heat in my palm.

It switched back and forth between shoulders (because you�re supposed to treat both sides). The pain disappeared.

Dylan then jumped up on my lap, so I figured I�d try it on him, just to see if he would notice. I wasn�t touching him, but he seemed to feel it and like it. I stopped, but as he continued to sit in my lap, the heat just kept coming out of my palms. I couldn�t stop it. It became warm, then uncomfortably warm, then hot, then �ok, this is getting annoying.�

Wondering if I was going bonkers, so I held my hand up a few inches from Adam�s face and I said, �Can you feel anything?�

I expected him to say something along the lines of, �No, put your hand down!�

Instead, he jumped back and said, �WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?!�

I haven�t been taught to reiki other people, yet, but I noticed that if I put my hands over Adam, my palms cooled down a little bit. That made me feel better, which made me want to put my hands over him more. I did this until he told me that I was heating him up too much and to stop it.

The odd thing is that the skin of my palms remains cool to the touch, but a few inches away, there�s this feeling of heat. I�m not sure if there�s an actual temperature change or we just perceive it as heat.

As far as the entire experience goes, the only tangible part of it has been this inexplicable heat. It�s not just me and it�s not just Adam. I tried it on every cat, and every cat behaved as though he or she could feel it. I did this multiple times and each cat reacted in his or her unique way, but consistent with every time I tried it on him or her (we�re talking 4 cats, by the way).
None of this really makes any sense to me. I don�t understand how an attunement ritual could really attune anything, but I have no other explanation for the sudden change.

I�ll be off to my next session with Rita soon. I am so fascinated and I�m looking forward to learning more.

With this experience along with the acupuncture I�ve been receiving, I�m finally starting to feel like myself again. There�s so much more to say just about my own personal energy levels and how much it�s been affected, lately. I�ll have to touch on that more, later.

0 comments so far

Sunday, Dec. 06, 2009 at 1:26 PM