Sharon�s cat died. She sent email this morning. This troubles me more than the news of hearing my grandfather died.

I don�t always express it, but I have a lot of love and affection for my friends. Her cats are very important to her and I worry about how she�ll cope.

Maybe it�s something about animals, too. The thing about pets is that they truly are a reflection of how they are treated. If you�re nice to them, then they�re nice to you. They�re not crazy, like people, who rarely follow this standard of practice.

Perhaps is also partly shock. It seemed to me that the cat had a cold, maybe some respiratory trouble, and the next thing I know, the cat is dead.

We work in the same office and she isn�t in today, and I don�t know if she�ll be in tomorrow. I don�t want to call because she doesn�t like to talk on the phone.

I don�t know how appropriate it is to tell the other people in the office, so I�ve kept my mouth shut. In the case a dead family member, it seems that the news spreads quickly, but I don�t know if that�s just because it�s supposedly easier for people to not have to tell each person individually his/herself or people just like to spread gossip.

Maybe I�m just over-protective of my friends. Whenever someone is facing grief, I want to swoop in and fix it, but in most cases I�m helpless to do anything.

When life treats me bad, I often just shrug and think, �Well, that�s life, things go wrong sometimes,� but when it�s a friend of mine, I feel more like shaking my fist at the sky screaming, �How dare you!�

0 comments so far

Wednesday, Jan. 03, 2007 at 3:19 PM