I�m getting ready for a weekend away from home. We�re going to a friend�s house for an �otaku� weekend. This friend got involved with outdoor activities last year, and resultantly joined our circle of friends. Being completely new to anything outside and intensive physical activity, I was surprised by his enthusiasm and energy during these past several months.

So now, he�s throwing a weekend-long party, for those who introduced him to the outdoors, to introduce us to the indoors; Asian geek culture.

I don�t know if I�d say any of this is new to me since I am a) part Asian, and b) a retired spod. I�m usually not big on geek socializing (is that an oxymoron?) because I was always the Vampiric kind that would only type to the living, until I decided that I needed to get a life. Then I got one, just a few short years later, when I decided that I wanted a life.

Anyway, that�s what I�m doing this weekend.

However, more importantly, LA left me a really helpful comment for my last entry. I�m so happy and grateful because yes, that�s exactly the kind of thing I need to do. It�s so very simple and easy.

I was looking for a complex solution that would have the power to fix everything. I don�t have the power to fix everything, but that doesn�t mean I don�t have the power to help; even if that means helping only a little.

Thank you so much, LA.

To LA, and anyone else who might be reading, have a fantastic weekend!

0 comments so far

Friday, Dec. 19, 2008 at 8:21 PM