I had a fantastic time hiking up the mountains in new york. Normally, I like to be really, really backcountry, miles from anything. All the signs of civilization made it different from previous backpacking trips, but with the cold weather, I felt better knowing that I wasn�t too far from roads.

After we set up camp, I enjoyed staring off the mountain and enjoying a view of the lights below, including an outline of Manhattan.

It was a 9.7 mile loop over two days, which is on the short side, for me, but the terrain was challenging, especially with the snow and ice. At one point, I went off the trail and climbed up a steep, sheer ice section, while the others dragged themselves up the more conventional route. It was tough, and I am lucky to have made it. I was up before the rest of them (mostly because I was the only person taking that route and had no one in front of me to worry about), and continued hiking.

Later, I mentioned to Adam how difficult that was, and he gasped, �What? You were being karate girl, leaping from rock to rock and waving at us as you went by!�

There was another girl there, Melanie. She�s a few inches shorter than me, and maybe 15 pounds or so lighter than me (that�s nothing to scoff at, she�s tiny).

I was thoroughly impressed with her strength as she made her way up the mountain faster than me. It�s always the little ones that fool you. It�s funny how I�m so impressed with other people�s athletic ability, but I don�t think much of my own.

As a whole, the group did very well and it was a fantastic time.

There was one person who did not heed Adam�s multiple warnings that only experienced hikers in good health should attend. Even though we all do this for fun, it�s still snow and ice, a steep incline, and gear on our backs. That�s not something to joke around about.

Once it became evident that she wasn�t fit enough to be doing the hike, there was a lot of contention over whether or not she should be sent home, and if she were to be sent home, how? She obviously couldn�t go back down the mountain by herself.

It wasn�t my decision, of course, but I was nervous about bringing along someone that could potentially endanger the entire group. Our destination was a stone shelter with a fireplace. If she slowed the group up enough that we didn�t make it to the shelter before night-fall, we�d be forced to camp without a shelter. That�s camp without a shelter in a wind chill of 5F.

She insisted on finishing, though. Rather than water, she brought a mug of coffee, to hike up a mountain. The next day, she was feeling her dehydration and had a lot of difficulty making it back down the mountain.

Personally, I was more concerned that she�d drop dead of a heart-attack. Not only did she not have the cardiovascular health to be doing the hike, she was also carrying an exceptionally large and heavy backpack.

When backpacking, I go towards ultra-light as possible. Even with the lightest pack (around 30 pounds), I�m still carrying a significant percentage of my body weight, and I try not to go heavier than that.

The girl brought canned food and many other unnecessaries. Her pack was probably close to 50 pounds.

I told Adam that I thought her pack was far too heavy for her. He disagreed, saying she�s much bigger than I am. I told him that it meant it was harder because she also had to get her body up the mountain too.

So, I don�t know. Does being bigger necessarily mean that you have more muscle?

Well, anyway, my sleep deprivation is also becoming a bigger issue. I didn�t get enough sleep this weekend, and every night this week, I have some obligation in the evening, so there�s little chance to catch up.

0 comments so far

Monday, Jan. 21, 2008 at 11:24 AM