After being sick for two weeks straight, I think I might be able to join the land of the living again. I hope, anyway.

It�s been a rough month. I�ve been feeling like my life is extra difficult, lately. I�ve also started figuring out how to tweak things so I�m not always so close to butterfly net territory. The first is to start getting enough sleep. Nothing makes me crankier than being tired. The second is to eat better. I�ve got some sort of blood sugar issue and simple carbs and high sugar foods put me on the most unpleasant kind of rollercoaster.

We�re going to Florida over the holidays to see family, and I�m looking forward to that.

I am kind of down that I am still working on getting my old body back and being stuck in bed for a couple of weeks didn�t exactly move me in the right direction.

The other thing that didn�t move me in the right direction was going to a Kill Bill movie night with a bunch of my friends. I�d never seen the movies before and the whole event seemed to be built around the premise that among my circle of friends there are two black belts, both women. (The other, being my friend Nicole, who is awesomeness personified.)

Anyway, after a few nights of terrible dreams filled with anxiety and death, which only encouraged an already enthusiastic fever, one evening I found myself shivering and sweating under a pile of blankets, asking Adam to please, please bring me my sword. JUST IN CASE! I do have one, I wasn�t that delirious.

He suggested Tylenol instead.

I am in the mindset of getting myself back on track, rather than being in the mindset of �Damn, why didn�t I do more weapons training when I had the chance!?!� I think that�s an improvement.

The past couple of days, I�ve also been feeling more optimistic. I am not sure why I would feel more optimistic now, as opposed to a few weeks ago. Nothing has really changed, but it�s there and I�m grateful for it.

Over the weekend, I was also blessed with a Tina Turner concert. It came along and fell into my lap, completely free of charge. Nicole called me up on Saturday night and said, �I am on my way to a Tina Turner concert ..blahblahablahblah� so if you want the extra ticket, you better get on the road, right now.�

I didn�t even give myself time to change, and soon enough, I was on the road. Regretfully, I had to call Anthony, who is usually my supplier of concert tickets, and cancel hanging out with him, again.

After I arrived, I also regretted not giving myself time to change, since Tina�s fans are obviously very serious about their concert attire. Note of advice: Never go see the Queen of Rock & Roll in a faux yuppy running outfit and trail shoes.

After about two minutes, I didn�t care anymore. The air was electric with enthusiasm, giddiness and fanaticism. Pretty soon, I had a fantastic contact high. Once we got inside, I was blown away. I am absolutely speechless about the rest of it.

I don�t know if I�ve ever previously been in the presence of an individual that defies the rules of humanity. If I have, I didn�t know about it. Saturday night, I was, and I knew it.

0 comments so far

Friday, Dec. 05, 2008 at 7:49 AM