Last night, salsa was a lot of fun. I hadn�t danced in months, so I was concerned about whether or not I�d remember how to dance. That�s the nice thing about not having to lead; you really don�t have to remember anything. It�s more about understanding what�s going on with each guy.

We danced until about midnight and then we went to a nearby caf� to get some dessert and chat. I didn�t order any dessert. I wasn�t hungry, but I was very thirsty, so I sucked down a bunch of water, along with some chamomile tea.

We talked a little bit about her issues with men, mainly that her last three boyfriends were not American and were in the US on work visas. That�s all well and good until the work visa runs out, and the department of homeland security steps in.

Anyway, she was declaring herself done with non-American�s or at least people who aren�t permanent residents of our country, and I can�t say that I blame her. I�ve had the short end of that stick, too, and it�s no fun.

So, when offering her suggestions for meeting someone new, I threw out the idea that she could ask her friends to set her up. She said, �That�s not a bad idea� So, set me up!�

Oy. Yeah. What am I going to do? Go on FB and say, �I�m looking for an intelligent, attractive, athletic man, who is preferably bilingual or more?� Of course, �athletic� can�t mean �goes to the gym� either. We�re talking black-belt, track-star level here.

There are Adam�s grad school friends (most of whom are married or in serious relationships, anyway). They would meet the intelligence and language requirements, but I wouldn�t really use words like �chiseled� or �sculpted� when describing their physical attributes. The religion department isn�t exactly the place to seek out� anyone who wouldn�t have the word �bookish� in his description.

At least I know one thing. She�s a serious extrovert that prefers introverts. I�ve noticed that about really extreme extroverts. They seem oddly attracted to introverts. I don�t really have the time to get into my theories about that because I would like to get some school work done today.

She also questioned me about whether or not Adam and I intended to get married. I told her about my hesitations and fears. We talked about it at length. She admitted that she really didn�t realize the can of worms she was opening when she asked about it. She encouraged me to discuss it with him more and added, �What possible negative outcome could there be?� I said, �I could end up having to get married!�

Some phrases like, �Commitment-phobe� and �Chronic Bachelorette� were thrown around.

1 comments so far

Saturday, Jul. 21, 2012 at 4:07 PM