Today is the start of my reiki level 2 training. I�m extremely excited about it. I don�t mean that I�m jumping up and down and squealing, but more that I�m feeling a little like I�m moving forward into the realm in which I was meant to move.

Last night, I was over at my reiki teachers house, helping her with an intro-to-reiki event she was hosting in her house. There were three of us channels there, and so we did short sessions on every person, just to let them experience it, some for the first time, others not.

After one particularly tense girl, my teacher and I were in her bathroom washing our hands. (We make it a practice to wash our hands before each reiki session, partly to mentally prepare ourselves for healing and partly because you�re about to put our hands all over someone�s body, so it�s kind of nice for them to be clean. We are in a tradition in which you do make physical contact, not just touch the aural field, as they put it.) She sighed and said, �People are so young, and they carry such burdens.� I said, �Well, from a Buddhist perspective, our bodies are young, but we�ve lived through many lifetimes.� She said, �I forget. Thank you for that.�

Maybe it�s me, but I can never forget that. Maybe it�s because where I am, right now. I feel like my soul is in transition now. I may have been a healer once or twice in a past life, but I doubt that I was ever very devoted or very good. However, I have lifetimes and lifetimes of violence behind me. Fighting for something or another and I�m sure almost always male. So, I�m becoming something else now.

Maybe. Maybe in a few years, I�ll be saying that healing feels like home. That seems out of character for me, though. Since as long as I can remember, even when I was a little kid, I was a fighter.

The odd thing is that from a spiritual standpoint, healing is the path to peace, I�m not ready to say that I�m going to be influencing the world for the better going forward.

It�s late, I don�t have time to really get into it. I have to leave for my teachers house soon.

As a side note, Nicole sent me an email asking me if I would accompany her for a life changing event. Feeling very special an honored, I agreed. It�s so weird to me because she�s definitely a warrior through-and-through, and she has those warrior high walls around herself that makes her nearly almost impenetrable. While I respect her and adore her immensely, I often feel like I�m an outsider when it comes to her. She does not extend invitations into that head of hers, which is so different from most people who are broadcasting anything and everything (mostly stuff you don�t want to know).

For some reason, my initial response is to want to change myself to be more acceptable to her, and get the invitation, but then realizing that�s impossible to be someone else, I just give up on it. Of course, that thought process is completely silly, anyway, because I�m obviously acceptable to her just as I am. It�s her habit and her way to be guarded.

Anyway, I have to run or else be late.

0 comments so far

Saturday, Jul. 17, 2010 at 1:18 PM