I�ve been thinking about adding a guestbook, lately. My main problem with this is that I can�t see paying for something I could make myself.

The only problem with making it myself, is that I�d have to either host it on my personal domain or my business domain, and I�m not doing either of those things. I don�t mind having my personal website associated with my myspace or facebook accounts, but the diaryland account is supposed to be just for me.

Although, it isn�t much, it�s actually more expensive for a supergold membership at diaryland than it is to own your domain and rent space on a webserver. Is it just me, or is that totally insane?

I know that they offer other services with the membership, but the only thing that diaryland provides that I can�t create myself is anonymity. I�m not really sure how great a job I�ve done of maintaining that, but I don�t want to be a paranoid freak about it, either.

There�s something a bit too freaky about someone so obsessed with anonymity that it would be completely impossible to find her diary, and that person would have to be pretty persistent about it.

I looked at some free guestbook services, but the privacy policy on those things is pretty much non-existent.

Anyway, I never thought anyone would actually want to read and comment on anything written here, so it�s become an unforeseen issue. It�s not so much that I believe that people are panting to respond to me, it�s more that, I�d love people to respond to me, and I�d love to make it easy.

I just haven�t come up with a good way to do that, yet. Please don�t think that I don�t value readers or the opinions of others. I do, and I have fifty million other ways for people to leave me notes or contact me, all over the internet. If you really want, I can point you in that direction.

Honestly, I�d rather just be emailed, anyway.

0 comments so far

Tuesday, Jun. 26, 2007 at 12:10 PM